(En) (Pl)

20 kroner NORWAY (2014) 200 Years of Signing Constitution

20 kroner 2014 200 Years of Signing Constitution - Norwegian coins
20 kroner 2014 200 Years of Signing Constitution - Coins of Norway
diameter: weight: thickness: alloy:
27.5 mm 9.9 g 2.3 mm Cu81Zn10Ni9
in the centre head of Harald V King of Norway facing right; below year of issue: 2014; along the top edge: HARALD V • NORGES KONGE (Harald V King of Norway)
on the left a profile of Christian Magnus Falsen facing right, in front of his face six contours of various faces symbolising different generations of Norwegians; on the right in two lines face value: 20 / KR (KRONER); on the bottom in two lines: GRUNNLOVEN / 1814-2014 (Constitution 1814-2014)
issue date:
16 II 2014
withdrawal date:
Ingrid Austlid Rise (initials IAR behind king's neck on the obverse), Esther Maria Bjørnboe (initials EMB on Falsen's shoulder at the left edge of the reverse)
Mint mark of Royal Norwegian Mint Det Norske Myntverket (The Royal Mint), Kongsberg (mint mark divides year of issue on the obverse)
2014 1 992 000 + 25 000 in annual sets
interesting facts:
This Norwegian commemorative coin of 20 kroner from 2014 commemorates 200th anniversary of signing the constitution of Norway. A draft of the constitution was written by Christian Magnus Falsen (1782-1830), Norwegian jurist together with a Dane Johan Gunder Adler (1784-1852). Preparing a draft they were inspired by existing constitutions of the United States and of Spain, which they adjusted to Norwegian coditions. On May 16, 1814, after five weeks of work a ready text was brought to the National Assembly for voting. The constitution was signed the next day. May 17th is today a public holiday in Norway and Christian Magnus Falsen is called the father of the constitution. Norwegian constitution is second oldest valid constitution in the world.

Christian Magnus Falsen on a portrait by Christian Olsen.

Christian Magnus Falsen
last update: 22 II 2015

coins catalogue :: katalog monet :: münzkatalog :: catalogue de monnaies :: catálogo de monedas :: catalogo monete :: каталог монет :: κέρματα κατάλογος :: COINZ.eu

© 2010-2021 :: Adam Kubicki :: COINZ.eu :: All rights reserved.