(En) (Pl)

2 euro FINLAND (2004) Enlargement of the EU

2 euro 2004 Enlargement of the EU - coins of Finland
2 euro 2004 Enlargement of the EU - obverse to reverse alignment
diameter: weight: thickness: alloy:
25.75 mm 8.5 g 2.22 mm Cu75Ni25/Cu75Zn20Ni5
in the coin centre drawn with one line a stylised shoot with ten leaves growing from a simplified Ionic column; on a column letters: EU (EUROOPAN UNIONI in Finnish or EUROPEISKA UNIONEN in Swedish - European Union); along the top edge year of issue 2004; at the edge a ring of twelve five-pointed stars - symbol of the European Union
left from the coin centre face value 2, on the right inscription: EURO; in the background of the inscription a simplified map of Europe showing borders of countries - members of the EU in 1999; in the background of the map vertically six parallel lines ending on both sides with five-pointed stars (the reverse is common for all euro coins)
reeded with concave inscription:
edge of 2 euro Finnish coins
(Finland in Finnish and Swedish as well as three lion heads)
issue date:
1 VII 2004
withdrawal date:
still in circulation
Pertti Mäkinen (initial M below the lower right leaf on the obverse), Luc Luycx (initials LL below letter 'O' in EURO on the reverse)
Rahapaja Oy (The Mint), Vantaa (below the lower right leaf on the obverse initial M of the mint director Makkonen)
2004 931 400 M + 54 000 in annual boxed sets
+ 9 600 in commemorative sets
mint marks:
On Finnish coins produced after 1945 the following initials of directors of the Finnish Mint can be found:

S - Isak Gustaf Sundell (in years 1912 - 1947)
L - Vesa Uolevi Liuhto (1948)
H - Peippo Uolevi Helle (1948 - 1958)
S - Allan Alarik Soiniemi (1958 - 1975)
K - Timo Kauko Koivuranta (1976 -1983)
N - Reino Tapio Nevalainen (1983 - 1987)
M - Reino Tapio Makkonen (1987 - 2006)

On the Finnish commemorative coin of 2 euro from 2006 the obverse designer - Pertti Mäkinen placed his own initial next to the initial of mint's director Reino Tapio Makkonen. Hence two letters 'M' on the obverse.
interesting facts:
On May 1, 2004, there was the fourth and biggest ever enlargement of the European Union. Into its structures joined 10 countries: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. Therefore, the obverse designer commemorating this event drew a plant with ten leaves symbolizing the ten new member states.
last update: 12 VIII 2013

coins catalogue :: katalog monet :: münzkatalog :: catalogue de monnaies :: catálogo de monedas :: catalogo monete :: каталог монет :: κέρματα κατάλογος :: COINZ.eu

© 2010-2021 :: Adam Kubicki :: COINZ.eu :: All rights reserved.